what is tcu senate?

TCU Senate is the main governing body for Tufts undergraduate students. Senate tasks include:

  • Writing and passing resolutions

Resolutions serve as strong lobbying tools that express to the Tufts administration the wants and needs of the student body. They speak as a collective voice and are instrumental in enacting systemic changes.

  • Allocating and approving budgets and supplementary funding requests for all TCU-recognized groups

TCU Senate has authority over the allocation of all money collected by the undergraduate student activities fee, totaling over $2 million. This money is used to fund all TCU-recognized student organizations. 

  • Actively communicating with the Tufts student body to represent their needs and interests

Tufts students are encouraged to reach out to their Senate members and express any ideas or concerns they have about student life. Senators are also expected to reach out to their constituents and advocate on their behalf. 

  • Initiating and pursuing projects to better student life

Each senator sits on at least one committee and works on projects of their choosing to better the student experience. The committees currently are:

  • Administration & Policy (A&P)

  • Community & Diversity

  • Education

  • Outreach

  • Services

who sits on tcu senate?

TCu Senate is composed of:

  • 7 Class Senators for each year voted for by their respective class members for a total of 28 Class Senators.

Note: If a class has less than 7 candidates for their class representative seats, the open seats drop down to the following class year. For example, if the Class of 2012 only had 5 candidates for Senate, the 2 unfilled seats are open for candidates of the Class of 2013 to fill. 

  • 7 Community Senators with full senatorial powers elected by the entire undergraduate student body, including:

    • Africana Community Senator

    • Asian American Community Senator

    • First Generation College Students Community Senator

    • International Community Senator

    • Latinx Community Senator

    • LBGTQ+ Community Senator

    • Women's Community Senator

  • 3 Trustee Representatives appointed by the Senate body as non-voting members who represent the Tufts Community Union in meetings of the Tufts Board of Trustees.

A total of 38 Members make up the TCU Senate body. 


TCU Senate meets every Sunday in the Sophia Gordon Multipurpose Room (15 Talbot Ave, Medford MA 02155). General Meetings begin at 7 PM and are open to the public. 

Allocations Board meetings are every Wednesday beginning at 8 PM in room 220 of the Mayer Campus Center (40 Professor's Row, Medford MA 02155). Groups receive scheduled times from the TCU Treasury and are expected to be present 10-15 minutes in advance. 


Please click here to see the TCU Senate Bylaws, which govern Senate in conjunction with the TCU Constitution. The Bylaws were last amended and approved on February 3rd, 2019.


For inquiries, please contact TCU Historian Rabiya Ismail at Rabiya.Ismail@tufts.edu. The Senate office is located in room 215 of the Mayer Campus Center (44 Professor's Row, Medford MA 02155)